About IKS

The Association for the Promotion of Inclusion through Cultural and Sporting Activities (IKS in German) was founded in April 2015 by people with a shared passion for sports and culture, with many years of experience under their belt working with special groups of people. By utilizing sports and cultural activities, the non-profit association IKS makes a significant contribution to inclusiveness. The main focus lies in working with children and adolescents in order to teach them how to deal with special groups of people as early as possible. The registered office of the non-profit association is in Graz and the main field of application is mainly in Styria.

INCLUSION as the opposite of exclusion stands for active participation of all people in societal life. No one shall be excluded on the basis of any characteristic. No matter whether young or old, with a physical and/or intellectual impairment, migration background or persons with care responsibilities. Everyone is an equal individual regardless of their personal support needs. We stand for working together in society and want to promote this in a targeted manner.

Our APPROACH is to provide special offers as early as possible in order to get rid of shyness or inhibitions. SPORTS and CULTURE help us to approach people who are supposedly different and to pursue a common goal. FUN and JOY, in the exercise, in the music, in the life itself, are paramount to us.

Access to sports and cultural activities is often made difficult for special groups of people. Our OFFER ranges from sensitisation, information on targeted events for and with children and young people. In addition, our weekly RUN 4 TOLERANCE is a great opportunity for everyone to support us and to do something good for themselves. We use sport and culture as media to promote inclusion in society. We offer targeted events and projects open to ALL.

Especially in the sports field, we are in a unique position as an inclusive club, we mediate and exchange information with traditional sports clubs. We a part of the sporting union, we cooperate with kindergartens, schools, clubs, and institutions such as Special Olympics. With our dance and theatre festival InTaKT we are further demonstrating that an impairment is not an obstacle to active and passive participation in cultural events.

Über IKS

Der Verein zur Förderung der Inklusion durch kulturelle und sportliche Aktivitäten (IKS) wurde im April 2015 von sportambitionierten und kulturell interessierten Personen gegründet, die langjährige Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit speziellen Personengruppen haben. Durch den Einsatz von sportlichen und kulturellen Aktivitäten leistet der gemeinnützige Verein IKS einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Inklusion. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei auf der Arbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen, um diesen möglichst früh einen natürlichen Umgang mit besonderen Personengruppen zu vermitteln. Der Sitz des gemeinnützigen Vereins ist in Graz, das Haupteinsatzgebiet ist größtenteils in der Steiermark.

INKLUSION als Gegenteil von Exklusion bedeutet die aktive Teilhabe aller Menschen am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Niemand soll aufgrund irgendwelcher Merkmale ausgeschlossen werden. Egal ob jung oder alt, mit einer physischen und/oder intellektuellen Beeinträchtigung, mit Migrationshintergrund oder Personen mit Betreuungspflichten. Jeder Mensch ist ungeachtet seiner persönlichen Unterstützungsbedürfnisse ein gleichwertiges Individuum. Wir sind für ein gemeinsames Miteinander in der Gesellschaft und wollen dies gezielt fördern.

Unser ANSATZ ist es, möglichst früh mit speziellen Angeboten zu beginnen, damit keine Berührungsängste oder Hemmschwellen entstehen. SPORT und KULTUR helfen uns, um Personen, die vermeintlich anders sind anzunähern und gemeinsam ein Ziel zu verfolgen. SPASS und FREUDE, an der Bewegung, an der Musik, am Leben an sich, stehen bei uns im Vordergrund.

Der Zugang zu sportlichen und kulturellen Angeboten ist für spezielle Personengruppen oftmals erschwert. Unser ANGEBOT reicht von Sensibilisierung, Aufklärung über gezielte Veranstaltungen für und mit Kindern und Jugendlichen. Darüber hinaus ist unser wöchentlicher Lauftreff RUN 4 TOLERANCE eine gute Möglichkeit für jede/n Einzelne/n uns zu unterstützen und selbst etwas Gutes für sich zu tun. Wir nützen Sport und Kultur als Medien um den Inklusionsgedanken in der Gesellschaft voranzutreiben. Wir bieten gezielte Veranstaltungen und Projekte, die FÜR ALLE offen sind.

Gerade im sportlichen Bereich sind wir als inklusiver Verein einzigartig, wir vermitteln und tauschen uns auch mit traditionellen Sportvereinen aus. Wir gehören zur Sportunion, kooperieren mit Kindergärten, Schulen, Vereinen und Institutionen wie etwa Special Olympics. Auch kulturell zeigen wir mit unserem inklusiven Tanz- und Theaterfestival InTaKT, dass eine Beeinträchtigung kein Hindernis für aktive und passive Teilhabe am kulturellen Geschehen ist.